REMEMBER

Remember me as the one who wanted to change the world;

the who wanted to inspire generations.

Remember me not as the coward who didn’t fight,

but as the warrior who never stopped fighting.

 

As the sun starts setting, so will I.

Don’t let anything deter you from achieving your dreams,

not even you. Remember that you are as powerful

as the sun’s rays are.

 

Even the stronger and most beautiful tree

has lost its leaves and has flourished every season and so will you.

Learn to weave your own web of opportunities.

You are powerful in every sense.

Author: Alejandro Castro-Ontiveros

I am currently enrolled in the Social Work graduate program at the University of Southern California, USC. I graduated from California State University, Northridge, and hold Bachelor degree in Sociology with a minor in Women's Studies. I am originally from Zacatecas, México residing in Los Angeles, CA. I am a feminist and an immigrant rights advocate! Feminism is an idea that isn't meant to destroy men, rather, its an idea that seeks the equality between men and women. My research interest include: sex and gender, immigration, culture, fashion, education, Latin American feminism, and recently I have developed a research interest in the life of Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz.

Leave a comment